“Milngavie and Bearsden belong together” – Swinson

Jo has criticised the Boundary Commission’s revised proposals for the Scottish Parliament constituency boundaries.

The Boundary Commission’s revised proposals for the boundaries Scottish Parliamentary constituencies, released this week, show only small changes to the current arrangement. Strathkelvin & Bearsden still form one constituency, while Clydebank and Milngavie form another.

Jo has campaigned to combine Milngavie and Bearsden in a single constituency, and the previous set of proposals did so, in a new “Milngavie and Bishopbriggs” constituency. Jo launched a campaign to keep Bearsden’s name in the title, as it would have been the biggest town in the constituency, but in a surprise move the Boundary Commission has abandoned plans to combine the three towns.

The Commission is inviting the public to submit their views on the proposals by 21st June 2009.

Commenting, Jo said:

“It is a great shame that the Boundary Commission is clinging to the status quo, which creates an artificial divide between Milngavie and Bearsden. The two towns have long formed a natural community with many common concerns, and last year’s proposal to join them together under one MSP made good sense, as well as having public support. Why they have abandoned that plan after so much consultation is a mystery.

“I will be writing to the Boundary Commission to urge them to reconsider, and I would strongly encourage Milngavie and Bearsden residents also to make their views heard by 21st June.”

Views on the proposals should be submitted by email to[email protected], by fax to 0131 538 7511 or in writing to:

The Secretary

Boundary Commission for Scotland

3 Drumsheugh Gardens



There is also an online response form at:


All submissions should include the correspondent’s address and postcode and be made by 21st June 2009.

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.