Cosmopolitan honours Fun Fearless Female Jo

The Cosmopolitan FFF Awards are set to become an annual calendar highlight

Jo Swinson collecting her Cosmopolitan Fun, Fearless Female award


Jo Swinson has been honored with a National Award in The Cosmopolitan Fun Fearless Female Awards with Olay. Jo attended the glittering Awards ceremony last night at the Bloomsbury Ballroom in London, where she triumphed in the Best Newcomer category.

The initiative, launched earlier this year, celebrates women with the FFF factor – smart, passionate and inspirational women from a variety of backgrounds, who have been truly inspirational and not afraid to break boundaries, be at the top of their field and help those in need.

Jo commented: “Receiving recognition for my work in encouraging more women into politics is extremely rewarding, as it is one of the things I am most passionate about. The more representative our Parliament is in terms of gender, age and race, the more successfully it will function.

“All the award winners deserve huge credit for their personal success in their own fields. There is still much more to do, but the collective achievements of the women nominated for these awards is really inspiring.”

Eleven other people were honoured alongside Jo including, First Lady of Film; Scarlett Johansson, The Mistress of Music; Jamelia, Who Climbed the Media Mountain; Sarah Brown, Who Changed Your World; Karren Brady, Sporting Superhero; Hilary Lister, Icon; Fun Fearless Man; Jamie Oliver, Cosmo Reader’s Special Award; Kylie Minogue, Cosmo Editor’s Choice; Ruth Badger, Heroine; Georgina Downs, Friends and Family; Ants Bolingbroke-Kent and Jo Huxster and Survivor; Jenni Benjamin.

Nominees alongside Jo Swinson in the Best Newcomer category were: Corinne Bailey Rae, Peaches Geldof, Natalie Dormer, Miquita Oliver, Michelle Rodriguez and Souad Massi.

Sam Baker, Cosmopolitan’s Editor, said: “If we want more young women to vote, we need more young women representing them in parliament: Jo is a true groundbreaker.

“Indeed all our Fun Fearless Female winners are an incredible and inspirational group. A combination of celebrities, regular women and women who have become stars in their own fields, all sharing a commitment to being the best they can be and to making life better for others too.

“Our winners have genuinely made a difference; stood up for themselves or for others; and some, quite simply, survived things many could not begin to conceive of living through, let alone coming out the other side smiling and in some cases raising thousands of pounds for charity, too.

“They thoroughly deserve their Awards and I am delighted that Cosmopolitan has created this opportunity to formally recognise them”

At the Awards ceremony high profile celebrities, including Dame Kelly Holmes, Rachel Hunter, Fearne Cotton, who hosted the prestigious event, and many more enjoyed an incredible evening. The Awards, with support from Olay – a brand which inspires women of all ages to love the skin they’re in – are set to become an annual calendar highlight.

The Awards judging panel include Women’s Hour presenter and Women’s Aid Patron Jenni Murray; T4′s June Sarpong; Radio 1 DJ and TV presenter Fearne Cotton; Dame Kelly Holmes, Irma Kurtz and Observer newspaper Editor, Roger Alton.

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.