Jo celebrates local veterans

Jo Swinson MP hosted a special ceremony last week and awarded East Dunbartonshire ex-servicemen with Veterans’ Badges.

Jo organised the ceremony to celebrate the first Armed Forces Day, which will take place on Saturday 27th June. The day marks the culmination of events held across the UK this week honouring the men and women who work in Britain’s armed forces. This will be the third commemoration ceremony Jo has held to award local veterans with Veterans’ Badges.

Ex-servicemen Mr Alan Baillie , Mr Horace Lland and Mr James Kirkwood from Bishopbriggs received their badges, along with Mr Robin McSkimming from Bearsden and Mr George Sinclair from Kirkintilloch.

James Kirkwood was in the Army between 1954 and 1957. He said of his experience serving in the Royal signals:

“I had a good time in Cyprus, Eqypt and Iraq and enjoyed my time in the Royal Signals. I had no troubles; I was doing lots of running and swimming so I can’t complain!”

Commenting, Jo Swinson said:

“It was an honour to present local ex-servicemen with their Veterans Badge. The ceremony was a great way of bringing Armed Forces Veterans together in order to offer a show of gratitude for the service they have given to this country.

“It is always fascinating to meet the veterans and hear about their different experiences – it really highlights the enormous gratitude we owe to those who have risked their lives for our country in the past as well as those who are doing so now in conflicts around the world.”


Jo would be delighted to help other veterans who would like to claim their badge. Anyone who is eligible should contact the office either in writing to 4 Springfield House, Emerson Road, Bishopbriggs, G64 1QE or by phone on 0141 762 2209

Men and Women who enlisted in HM Armed Forces between 3 September 1945 and 31 December 1994 are entitled to a Veterans Badge. This includes members of the Cyprus Regiment, Home Guard and Polish Forces under UK Command and there is no qualifying length of Service.

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.