Jo congratulates her 2014 Christmas card winners

East Dunbartonshire MP Jo Swinson recently visited local schools to congratulate the winners of her annual Christmas card competition.


The winners and runners up have their designs and poems printed on the Christmas card. 

The art competition winner was:

  • Lewis Chambers - P4 Lairdsland Primary School

The runners-up were:

  • Chloe Beardsley – S1 Douglas Academy
  • Bailey Watson – P2 Baldernock Primary

The poetry competition winner was:

  • Hayden Thomson – P5 Baldernock Primary School

The runners up were:

  • Eva Konovalova and Holly Smith both P6 at Lairdsland Primary School.

The prizes for the competition are book tokens, and Jo encouraged the children to use them in a local book store.

The winners of the Christmas card competition were chosen by a panel of judges in Bearsden last month, including Chris Ravenhall from Strathkelvin Writers and Margaret Carruthers from Bearsden Art Club.

Commenting Jo said:

“Well done to Lewis and Hayden and the runners up! Their pictures and poems look fabulous on this year’s card.

“Thank you to everyone who took part. As always it was a very difficult decision as there were so many excellent entries. The card will be sent out to more than two thousand local groups and individuals, and I know they will appreciate the talents of the pupils from these excellent local schools.

“My thanks as well to Chris Ravenhall and Margaret Carruthers for the time they gave up to help select our worthy winners.”

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.