Jo Swinson Elected as MP for East Dunbartonshire

Jo Swinson has been elected as MP for East Dunbartonshire with a majority of 5,339.

Jo said: "East Dunbartonshire voted strongly for Scotland to stay in the UK and for the UK to stay in the EU and as your MP I will do my best to achieve that. In this victory I want to recognise and thank all those who put their usual party allegiance to one side to send a clear message that East Dunbartonshire does not want another divisive independence referendum. Nicola Sturgeon I hope you are listening.

"I am humbled by how so many people have done so much to create this result. Thank you all."

Jo's speech can be viewed in full here.

The full result was:

   Jo Swinson  Scottish Liberal Democrats  21,023  40.6%
   John Nicolson  SNP  15,684  30.3%
   Sheila Mechan  Conservative  7,563  14.6%
   Callum McNally  Labour  7,531  14.5%

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.