Jo welcomes re-election of hard-working Lib Dem Councillors

Jo Swinson, MP for East Dunbartonshire, has welcomed the local election results which saw Liberal Democrats Ashay Ghai, Eric Gotts and Vaughan Moody all re-elected to East Dunbartonshire Council.

Long-standing Councillors Eric Gotts and Vaughan Moody topped the poll in Milngavie and Bearsden South respectively. Ashay Ghai, who became a Councillor after winning the Bearsden South by-election in 2009, won a seat in his new ward of Bearsden North.

Commenting, Jo Swinson said:

“I’m delighted that our strong Liberal Democrat team has been re-elected to East Dunbartonshire Council. Eric, Vaughan and Ashay are well-known as champions for their areas, and they will continue to serve the interests of the communities across East Dunbartonshire. There are plenty of challenges for the new Council to address, from providing a real vision for the future of our town centres in Bishopbriggs and Kirkintilloch, to boosting the local economy and improving the state of our local roads.”

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.